What Is Vegan From An Indian Takeaway?


  1. Introduction
  2. Attention: Indian Food for Vegans
  3. Interest: Is Indian Food Vegan Friendly?
  4. Desire: What Indian Food is Vegan?
  5. Action: Find Vegan Indian Food in Crawley
  6. FAQs


By the end of 2023, there are expected to be 88 million vegans worldwide. With more than 600,000 vegans in the UK; it is easy to see how important it is for restaurants to cater to all different food groups. 

Does Indian food cater to vegan needs? Keep reading to find out!

Indian Food for Vegans

If you are looking for dairy and meat-free dishes, you will be thrilled to learn that Indian food vegan options are plentiful. As you can see by investing in the health benefits of eating Indian food, the cuisine features many vegetables, grains, and wheat in various dishes. 

The main reason is that 80% of the Indian population is Hindu which means eating little or no meat. Whilst this doesn’t always equal a vegan diet, there are still many suitable options available.

Is Indian Food Vegan Friendly?

Before we jump into some of the best vegan-friendly Indian dishes, we thought it would be handy to share the top ingredients to look for if you want to follow a meat and dairy-free diet. Most Indian dishes and menus contain the traditional names for ingredients, so it’s important to know what these are. 

The Zari Restaurant menu also labels suitable dishes to eliminate the guessing work.

The main vegan ingredients you want to look for as follows:

  • Chana (Chickpea)
  • Matar (Peas)
  • Coconut Milk
  • Aloo (Potato)
  • Palak (Spinach)
  • Saag (Spinach and Mustard Greens)
  • Vegetable Kofta
  • Tofu

What Indian Food is Vegan?

You will find that a lot of Indian dishes are made with ghee and yoghurt which are not vegan friendly. To make things easier for you, we have gathered some of our top vegan options below:


  1. Samosa – As the pastry is simply made from flour and water, as long as you choose a vegan filling, these are fine to eat.
  2. Chana Masala – A tomato and chickpea curry served with fresh lemon and fragrant chilli.
  3. Dal – A plant-based lentil curry packed with flavour. 
  4. Biryani – You will also find most Biryani that contain vegetables are vegan. Just double check it hasn’t been prepared with ghee or butter to sweat the onions.


  1. Dosa – This is a thin crepe made from lentils and fermented rice. It is great eaten with any curries or dal dishes.
  2. Chutney – Most chutneys will be vegan and offer a lovely tang to the side of a main dish.
  3. Pilau Rice – You will find most of the rice dishes are vegan, but this is our top choice.
  4. Salads


  1. Chikki – The Indian take on peanut brittle, Chikki offers a delicious blend of sweet and nuttiness with an unforgettable crunch.
  2. Coconut Cake – Coconut is a popular ingredient in Indian cooking with many desserts offering a vegan option when it is used.

Find Vegan Indian Food in Crawley

Visit Zari Restaurant, the best Indian restaurant in Crawley. We serve lots of vegan Indian dishes at our Crawley restaurant as catering to everyone’s dietary needs is of top priority for us! Get in touch with us today to make a booking.

You can also view our vegan menu here.


Q: Can Vegans Eat Indian Takeaway?

This article proves that vegan followers can eat Indian takeaways. Be sure to pay attention to the ingredients and dietary markings when making your choices.

Q: What Should You Avoid in an Indian Restaurant if You’re Vegan?

Aside from the obvious meat dishes, the main ingredients you want to avoid are Paneer (cheese), Ghee (Clarified Butter), Yoghurt, Cream, Makhani (Butter), and Korma dishes.

Q: Are Any Indian Breads Vegan?

Unless brushed with butter to finish, Roti, Puri and Paratha are all suitable.